Winter update

Like most of us in the sport, I’ve been beavering away over the winter, training for the new season which – thankfully – is now just around the corner.  I’ve seen reasonably good gains on the WattBike, which is primarily where I train.  I’m sure there will be an adaptation period when the racing starts – I have yet to start a season well, even when the winter training numbers have been good.  I think it takes me a few races to find it, and then I’m ok from that point on.

I did have my first proper crash at the weekend, whilst out training with my friend Justin.  Apparently, damp roundabouts are not to be taken on the tri-bars at race speed.  Who knew?  I was a big brave soldier, though, and gamely rode back to the car.  Like they do on the telly.  Not like those pansy footballers.

Racing starts for me proper on 19th March with the ECCA 10 mile TT on E2/10 at Six Mile Bottom, near Cambridge.  Well, I have entered at least.  I also plan to ride the Team Swift Good Friday 10 on V718 before rolling on to the main Spring Classic of the UK Time Trial season – the St. Ives CC Open 10 on 16th April!

More musings to come once the racing begins 🙂

Posted on February 24, 2016, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Looking lean Carl! Looking lean 😉

    On Wednesday, 24 February 2016, Contre-la-montre wrote:

    > Carl posted: “Like most of us in the sport, I’ve been beavering away over > the winter, training for the new season which – thankfully – is now just > around the corner. I’ve seen reasonably good gains on the WattBike, which > is primarily where I train. I’m sure there wil” >

  2. I wasn’t so hurt that I couldn’t hold it in for a photo! Wait until the belly is caught horizontal, breathing out in a race….

Leave a Reply

