Training update

I had an email from Power2Max yesterday to say that my power meter is on it’s way.  It won’t be here in time for the easter weekend, unfortunately, but I should have it installed by the middle of next week.  That’s when I get to compare the virtual power numbers of the Tacx Flow with reality.  Needless to say, I expect a rude awakening!

I’ve had quite a good few days of training since the last time I posted.  I had raised my FTP in TrainerRoad to 274w to reflect the most recent hour test.  On the 19th March I rode the Sufferfest There Is No Try video at the new level.  It was a good session, and the total amount of work (775w) was the highest I’d posted for that workout.  Below is a pic.  You can see that I was still able to ride above the required level for quite a lot of the time.  But that’s changing, I think.

Screen shot 2013-03-27 at 21.35.27

Last Thursday I did the Hour of Power again.  It asks for 101% of FTP, so the target was to ride at 277w (with FTP at 274w).  I ate well in advance and had a hefty coffee on the way home from work and was able to push 282w for the hour.  Tacx watts, of course!  I am being religious in preparing the same way each time.  I do the same 10 minute warm up and then calibrate the turbo in exactly the same way each time.  So I hope the numbers are consistent, even if they’re not that accurate. As I mentioned above, not got long to wait until I get proper numbers.  Anyway, another good result, I upped FTP in TrainerRoad to the new figure (282w).  You can see from the picture below that I still had a bit to burn towards the end, which is what contributed to the increase in power across the hour.

Screen shot 2013-03-27 at 21.43.46

The weather was bad again at the weekend, so I didn’t ride outside.  Instead, on Sunday, I rode the new Sufferfest Blender video.  I’d done this only once before, it’s a varied workout and is their longest video at 1 hour 44 minutes.  The first half is mainly FTP-level work, then there are some ruinous sprints, and then some more FTP work to finish.  The early intervals are supposed to be at ‘sweet spot’ level (about 90% of FTP) but I was feeling good so I rode them at FTP.  I pushed as hard as I could during the sprints just after half way.  It was a VERY hard ride,  probably the hardest I’ve ridden on the turbo.  My legs were very sore on Monday.  Here’s a pic:

Screen shot 2013-03-27 at 21.46.06

The TSS of 156 is a record for me.  Last night I did the old favourite, There Is No Try.  This is the session I do most often because I reckon it’s the best one I have for time trial-type efforts.  I’m usually able to push beyond the specified power, but I couldn’t last night.  I was still a little sore from Sunday’s ride, but I had prepared well, so I am beginning to wonder if the writing is on the wall for the levels of improvement I have been experiencing since I started training properly.  It has to come to an end.  Here’s a pic:

Screen shot 2013-03-27 at 21.50.37

Even though I found it tough, the total work (805w) was the highest yet for this workout, beating the 775w mark of the first session at the top of this post.  Tonight I thought I’d try my sweetspot workout, figuring that I’d be able to handle the lower intensity (typically 90% of FTP) without too many problems.  Not so, my legs felt very fatigued and I bailed after about 10 minutes. 😦  I seem to not be able to train at all on the day following a tough session, not even lightly.

Posted on March 27, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

